The prosecution has begun its work, it is time to begin your defense.
Contact our office today to schedule your free consultation.
Protecting Your Freedom throughout Arizona
Are you facing charges for drunk driving in AZ? When it comes to prosecuting matters of DUI, Arizona is a zero tolerance state. This means that finding a DUI attorney who truly understands the law and your situation is critical. At Villanueva Skura Attorneys at Law, our highly skilled Chandler DUI attorney has the experience and knowledge you need to defend your best interests no matter what charges you face.
DUI: What to do when stopped by police?
Pull over in a safe location, keep your hands at the top of the steering wheel and make no sudden movements as the officer approaches. Be sure you follow the next steps:
1: ASSERT YOUR RIGHT TO REMAIN SILENT
2: REFUSE THE FIELD SOBRIETY TEST
3: CONSENT TO THE IN-CUSTODY CHEMICAL TEST
4: AFFIRM YOUR RIGHT TO AN ATTORNEY
Types of DUI Charges We Handle
The penalties that accompany a DUI charge vary greatly depending on the degree to which the accused is impaired, whether they have prior convictions on their record, if any damage resulted from their impairment, and whether there was a passenger under the age of 15 in the vehicle.
The most common DUI charges include:
- Regular DUI: The individual’s BAC is .08 or greater within two hours of driving
- Extreme DUI: The individual’s BAC is .15 or greater within two hours of driving
- Super Extreme DUI: The individual’s BAC is .20 or greater within two hours of driving
- Drug DUI: The individual was under the influence of drugs, legal or illegal, while driving
Facing Underage DUI?
If you were under 21 at the time you were stopped for DUI, you may also be charged with an Underage DUI. Because Arizona is a Zero Tolerance state, it is a criminal DUI offense for a driver under the age of 21 to drive with even a small amount of alcohol in their system.
Underage Driving Under the Influence (DUI) is a class 2 misdemeanor, punishable by the following maximum and minimum penalties:
- Jail time = 4 months
- Fines = $750 (plus 83% surcharge)
- Probation = 2 years
- Mandatory 2-year license suspension (with the possibility of restricted privileges with the installation of interlock device)
- Possible alcohol screening and recommended follow-up treatment
- Possible DUI Impact Panel
- Possible SR22 insurance
A person found to be drinking underage may also be charged with the following, among others:
- Minor in Possession
- Open Container
- Misdemeanor DUI
- Fake ID
- Soliciting Alcohol
Some insurance companies may also terminate or refuse to renew an auto-policy after the insured receives an underage DUI.
Let Our Chandler DUI Lawyer Help You
When the stakes are this high, it is important to seek out the services of an experienced Chandler DUI lawyer who takes a full-service approach to criminal defense. Do not speak to the police, the complaining witness, or anyone other than your attorney. Any statement you make may be used against you.
Call Villanueva Skura Attorneys at Law to speak with our Chandler DUI attorney in a free consultation today.
1845 S Dobson Rd Suite 202,
Mesa, AZ 85202