What Are Your Legal Options When Accused Of Aggravated Assault?
If you’ve been accused of aggravated assault in the state of Arizona, you are probably wondering what may happen next, what the state laws say, and what consequences you might be facing, especially if you believe you are innocent. Aggravated assault in Arizona is a felony offense that can result in a substantial prison sentence, fines, a criminal record, and the loss of the ability to own a firearm, along with personal, social, and professional impacts. Because the consequences of aggravated assault charges are severe and the approach to your case will differ dramatically depending upon the circumstances, it’s imperative to seek the advice of an Chandler criminal defense lawyer right away.
Aggravated Assault Laws In Arizona
Under Arizona law, a person may be charged with aggravated assault if the person knowingly, recklessly, or intentionally provoked, injured, insulted, or caused physical injury or harm to another person. In many cases, the person who is accused or charged did not intend to commit aggravated assault, but they can still be charged with this crime if they caused serious injury or used a weapon.
Specific examples that are considered to be aggravated assault under Arizona law include:
- Causing serious physical injury to another person
- Using a deadly weapon or dangerous object as a weapon
- Committing assault with any kind of force that caused the impairment of any bodily organ or body part, fractured any body part, or resulted in disfigurement even if it was temporary
- Committing assault while the victim was physically restrained or had a reduced ability to resist the assault
- Committing assault after entering a private residence, with the intent of assault
- A person who is at least 18 years of age committing assault on a child under 15
- Committing a misdemeanor assault while violating a valid restraining order
- Gaining, or attempting to gain, control of a police officer’s weapon(s)
- Committing any kind of assault against a police officer, EMS, teacher or school employee, healthcare professional who was performing their job, public defender, etc.
There are many types of offenses that can fall under aggravated assault in Arizona. If you’ve been accused of any of these crimes, retain the services of an experienced Chandler criminal defense attorney who can help you understand your legal options.
What Are The Penalties For Aggravated Assault?
Aggravated assault charges range from Class 6 felony to a Class 2 felony, which is more severe. People who are convicted will be sentenced to 18 months – 21 years in prison and may be fined as high as $150,000, in addition to fees and other penalties. The consequences will be more severe for repeat offenders and less severe for first time offenders.
Felony convictions in Arizona include loss of the right to own a firearm and mandatory probation; people who are convicted will also likely face social consequences, loss of professional licensure, and reduced housing and employment opportunities after their release from prison.
How Can a Criminal Defense Lawyer Help Me?
Just because you are charged with aggravated assault does not mean that you will be automatically convicted and sentenced. In most cases, you will go to court, where your Chandler criminal defense lawyer will represent you. The prosecutor will need to prove that you as the alleged offender committed every element of the offense beyond a reasonable doubt. If the judge or jury has any doubt that you committed the alleged offense, the charges will be reduced and may even be dismissed.
Your attorney will conduct their own investigation into the circumstances and situation, which will include examining police and medical reports, eyewitness testimony, listening to your side of the story, and acquiring evidence such as fingerprints, phone records, and videos. Your attorney will understand when it is legal for their firm to contact an alleged victim to gain information for your case. Once the investigation is complete, your Arizona criminal defense firm will develop a defense on your behalf and represent you in court.
Don’t try to represent yourself against charges of aggravated assault; contact an experienced Arizona criminal defense lawyer to be on your side every step of the way. You should obtain legal counsel immediately after you are arrested and should not talk with law enforcement until you’ve consulted with your attorney. Having an experienced legal team on your side is crucial.
Do You Need Criminal Defense Against Assault Charges?
If you’ve been charged with aggravated assault in Arizona, contact the attorneys at VS Criminal Defense immediately. As your legal team, we will work with you to investigate the situation and develop a personalized defense strategy on your behalf. We have successfully defended many clients just like you against assault charges. Get your life back on track and only pay us if we win your case! Contact our office today for a free, completely confidential consultation.
1845 S Dobson Rd Suite 202
Mesa, AZ 85202
1425 S Higley Rd #101 Unit 2
Gilbert, AZ 85296