Aggressive Legal Representation For Felony Hit And Run Charges
Schedule A Case Consultation Today!
Criminal Penalties For Felony & Misdemeanor Hit And Run Charges
Arizona heavily prosecutes individuals charged with hit and run actions. Hit and run is considered a Class 2 felony with consequences ranging from probation to 12.5 years in prison, and even longer if the driver has a previous record.
Leaving The Scene Of An Accident Resulting In Injuries Or Death
ARS § 28-661
Leaving the scene of an accident where injury has occurred is considered a Class 5 felony, punishable by 9 months to 2 years in prison with a $750 fine, and a 3 year license suspension.
Hit And Run Of An Attended Vehicle Resulting In No Injuries
ARS § 28-664
Colliding with an unattended or attended vehicle with no injury present is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor with minor consequences. However, it does go on your driving record.
Refusal Or Failure To Exchange Information After An Accident
ARS § 28-663
Failure to render assistance or exchange information at the scene of a hit and run includes a Class 6 felony conviction with a prison sentence of up to 2 years.
Failure To Stop After Hitting A Parked Vehicle Or Property
ARS § 28-662
Violation of this Arizona statute is considered a Class 2 misdemeanor, punishable by up to 4 months in jail and a maximum fine of $750.
Common Defenses For Leaving The Scene Of A Car Accident
There are many arguments that can be used to defend an individual charged with hit and run. At VS Attorneys at Law, our Mesa hit and run defense lawyers are well-versed and experienced with using these strategies to achieve an optimal outcome for our clients.
Lack Of Criminal
Lack Of Knowledge Of
Injury To A Victim
Misdemeanor Compromise &
Defendants’ Necessity &
Violation Of Miranda &
Mesa’s Leading Hit And Run Criminal Defense Attorneys
5-Star Legal Representation For Felony Hit And Run Cases
Face Leaving The Scene Of An
Accident Charges & Accusations
Don’t face charges alone! Consult with our knowledgeable criminal defense lawyers in Mesa to discuss the allegations against you and build a strategy.
Hit And Run Accidents Resulting
In A Serious Injury Or Death
If you have been involved in a hit and run causing injury or death, get the representation you deserve from our Mesa accidental injury defense lawyers.
Legal Defense For Hit And Run
Resulting In Non-Serious Injuries
With expert representation from our criminal defense law firm in Mesa, you have the best chance at an optimal outcome against your hit and run allegations.
Reliable Felony Hit And Run Law Firm Serving Mesa
“I really enjoyed working with Michelle and the great team she has around her. They made a scary time in my life as painless as possible and we ended up receiving the best possible outcome. I would refer anyone in need of a strong defense team to the VS law group!
Eric C. ★★★★★
Professionalism, Quality, Responsiveness, Value
“If you want a caring and responsive lawyer who you can count on I’d highly recommend looking no further. MIchelle will be there for you during what is likely one of the worst times in your life and actually give you the priority and individual care that is needed from your lawyer. My son received a fully dismissal because of the amazing work of Michelle, on what could have been a very serious sentence due to how the law sometimes works in a failed manner.
Dan P. ★★★★★
they saved my life
“They clearly care about the work they do, they are very good people and they invest much time into your case to help you. Best money ever spent.
Every hit and run incident is unique and has a variety of factors to be considered before a verdict is reached, but typically in Arizona, the passenger of a vehicle cannot be slapped with hit and run charges unless they convinced the driver to flee the scene after the collision. Passengers who successfully persuade the driver to flee after colliding with another vehicle, person, cyclist, or piece of property can face criminal charges.
According to Arizona statute §28-661, it is a felony offense for a driver to fail to stop after an accident if physical injury or death has been caused to the other party. It is considered a misdemeanor if the accident only involved property damage and no injury occurred. If the driver is convicted, their consequences can range from simple probation to 12.5 years in prison. Having a reputable lawyer on your side will make all the difference!
In every hit and run situation, no matter how small, the driver is legally required to stop and check on the other party, exchange information, and provide any necessary assistance. Failure to do so can quickly lead to hit and run charges. If the collision only involved an unattended vehicle or a piece of property such as a fence, the driver is required to make reasonable effort to locate the owner, or leave a note with insurance and personal information if the owner cannot be found.
No matter how guilty you may feel, it is not a good idea to turn yourself into law enforcement without first speaking with an attorney. It is critical to the outcome of your case to hire a lawyer and discuss the situation before speaking with police. Even if law enforcement has impounded your vehicle and knows who you are, remember that you have the Constitutional right to remain silent and not answer questions until your lawyer is present.
Law enforcement should always be notified of a collision with a person, cyclist, car, or other piece of property. However, they do not have the right to file hit and run charges unless they were personally involved or injured in the incident. The police report about the situation is a key piece in helping your attorney build a strong defense, and Arizona law requires drivers and victims to report any incidents to law enforcement as soon as possible.
It is very important to speak with law enforcement after a vehicle accident or a hit and run. But, remember that you have Constitutional rights, and it is within your bounds to politely decline to answer any questions at the scene until you have spoken with your attorney. Though you may not feel free to walk away from an officer, or maybe you have been arrested and are in jail, you legally cannot be punished for refusing to answer a question.
If your vehicle was at fault in the collision, you most likely cannot prevent it from being impounded at least temporarily. If your vehicle was the one that got hit, it will not be towed unless it is undrivable. You can always ask questions and find out where your vehicle will be taken, and then your next step should be to contact a reputable attorney to discuss the situation and receive legal guidance.
Visit Our Mesa DUI Hit And Run Defense Law Firm
Apache Junction | Avondale | Carefree | Cave Creek | Chandler | Fountain Hills | Gilbert | Glendale | Gold Canyon | Goodyear | Mesa | Paradise Valley | Peoria | Phoenix | Queen Creek | San Tan Valley | Scottsdale | Sun City | Sun Lakes | Surprise